Wednesday, July 14, 2010

May 13 is Harlow's birthday!

As most of you know by now, tomorrow is her birthday! After finding out Monday that she is a whopping 9 lb's and 10 oz, we decided to go ahead with a C-section. It was something we were originally opposed to. I know they're popular now because you can essentially schedule the baby's birth when you're available, but I didn't like the idea of having surgery or the recovery period. We're only 14 hours away and I'm still not too keen on the idea. Just the thought of them cutting into my skin, severing my muscles and cutting into organs just is not appealing. Pushing the baby out will hurt but the recovery period would be a lot quicker. So that was my original thoughts. Now that we know she is huge, things have changed. A vaginal delivery at this point has so many potential complications for me and the baby, it's just scary. The Dr was telling us how her head could get stuck, if her head gets through then her shoulders may get stuck and at that point her head will already be out and they would have to rush to get her out in a certain time frame so they would have to cut the episiotomy further, twist her around, even break her collarbone so that she could get out! He said it could be very traumatic for her. It would also be horrible for me because I would have to recover from the episiotomy. I can't imagine having a huge cut down there...I mean, you would feel that everytime you walked or sat down...don't even get me started on going to the bathroom. I would have to get this special sitz bath and take constant care of it so that it doesn't get infected. The C-section seemed much more predictable and safe at this point. We know with a C-section that the baby will be fine, and yes, I will have a wound to recover from but a C-section is routine surgery. I don't like the idea of her being born on the 13th, that's such an unlucky number! I like even numbers, they sound 'nicer'. I was hoping the 12th or 14th. But I decided to leave it up to God and then the nurse called back and said the 13th at 10 am, and she will be born at 12:30. So we will be in the hospital for 3 nights which means we will come home Saturday afternoon sometime. It seems like a long time, but I think it will be very much needed. I will be able to utilize the nursing staff if I have questions about ANYTHING, they have people there specifically for help with breastfeeding, and I'll have a whole 3 days nurses tending to my wound. And hospitals are designed for people who can't really get around too well, so that will help too. Hospitals aren't fun, but I think those 3 days will be very much needed.

So tonight is our last night as non-parents! I know our lives will change forever after tomorrow, it's hard to even imagine everything. but all things happen for a reason and I'm so excited to finally meet our little (big) pea!

PS - everyone who comes to visit either needs to wash their hands or use hand sanitizer before touching her. I'm just saying!

Originally posted May 12, 2009

No comments:

Post a Comment