Wednesday, July 14, 2010

10 weeks!

Wow it's been 10 weeks already! I haven't posted anything because time has gone by so fast and I'm constantly busy! Harlow is such a great baby. She can be a little colicky at night but we've been VERY lucky! She is now sleeping 7-8 hours at night!! hooray! We just went to her 2 month visit and she is 12 pounds 6 oz and 24" long! She is in the 95% for height and 85% for weight! She looks COMPLETELY different from when she was born, it's incredible. I'm excited because she no longer looks like Kim Jong-Il! She is healthy and has a bit of a flat spot but the doctor said it's going away and is not anything to worry about. We've really been trying hard at getting her to lay on her other side and spend a lot of time on her tummy so that she's off of the back of her head. Tonight marked another milestone! She has been a little wobbly at holding her head up but tonight I stuck her on her tummy on her boppy and she used her little arms and pushed her chest up and held her head up! Not only that, she looked so proud! she was smiling once she did it! Then Kevin came in and she looked over at him! She held it up for about 30 seconds before she started to cry. I'm so proud!! She's getting stronger every day! She now reaches out and grabs things (always grabs my HAIR!) and the other day it was so cute...I took her in our closet to touch clothes (new textures!) and she wasn't interested in anything, and then she passed by a tulle skirt I have and grabbed that and didn't want to let go! She's going to be such a girly-girl :) Tonight I held her up to a mirror and she looked at herself and reached over and hit the mirror 2 or 3 times! I can't wait to get her around another baby to see how she interacts. She's so much fun to play with! I'll post some recent pictures later

As for me, The first 2 weeks I dropped 40 pounds and that was exciting and I wasn't at all concerned about losing weight up until now because I wasn't supposed to exercise for 6 weeks and I was more concerned with Harlow than myself. Now that it's 10 weeks and I've had the 'OK' to exercise for 4 weeks now...I don't have an excuse anymore. I've actually gained 6 pounds since my last visit. My BMI is now in the 'overweight' range and according to Jillian Michaels (Biggest Loser trainer), I am 10 pounds over my acceptable weight range. I can feel my stomach, back, thighs, and arms shake when I walk and since it's so hot, I can feel the sweat pooling in between my fat rolls I now have on my stomach and back. I know, gross. So I'm sick of complaining about it and now I'm going to do something about it. I'm going to go to the doctor and have that blood test done that checks all your organs and cholesterol and triglycerides and everything, and I'm going to have my body fat tested. Then I'm going to change my diet and exercise for a few months and go back and see how the changes have affected my body. I am 35 pounds higher than when I worked at Neimans. Some people have said I was way too skinny, but I actually wasn't. My weight was right in the middle of what is acceptable, my BMI was perfect too. That just proves that we are used to people being 'thicker' than what is healthy. I was exactly where I was supposed to be and people thought I was way to skinny. I felt the best at that point, too. This is a stupid analogy but I felt like a 'well-oiled machine'. I could run (literally) around in heels all day and never need to catch my breath. I didn't shake when I walked and that was the only time in my life my cholesterol was below 200. Last night I got on the elliptical machine and after 6 strides I was out of breath. I have completely let my body turn to trash and if I want to be around long enough to see Harlow become an adult, I need to make some changes now. There is no excuse for this so, we'll see how it goes! The only hard part is figuring out what to do with Harlow when I want to go run...

I'll post pictures soon!

Originally posted July 18, 2009

No comments:

Post a Comment